Strong Women

In case it wasn’t obvious, as soon as I finished Angel’s Blood by Nalini Singh, I immediately started Guild Hunter book two: Archangel’s Kiss. Some pretty important things with life-altering consequences happen at the end of that first volume, so any discussion of later books will spoil that. But, as is normal for this blog, I’ll avoid discussing spoilers for today’s discussed volume.

Archangel’s Kiss opens roughly where we left off, with Elena Deveraux awake in the Refuge, where all young angels live. Fitting, because she herself has somehow become one of these immortal creatures thanks to Raphael. It wasn’t something he had real control over, he just acted on instinct and his love for her made it possible. She’s the first angel made in living memory, so no one can really say too much of what she can and can’t do. All they know for certain is that, as a new-made immortal, she’s weak and vulnerable compared to the ones she normally associates with.

Things aren’t as peaceful in the Refuge as one might hope from the name. Some archangels have taken an interest in Elena due to her unusual circumstances. And it seems like, with Yurim dead, someone’s making a power play to take his place in the Cadre. Plus, there’s Lijuan. She’s the eldest and most powerful of the archangels, and she seems to have a new ability to make and control zombies. And she’s declared that she’s throwing a ball in Elena’s honor. So our heroine has two months to learn to fly, and hopefully learn enough other things to stay alive in Lijuan’s court.

It’s also worth noting that Elena’s hunter abilities seem to have acquired a new aspect as a result of her race change. Or perhaps as a result of the healing coma she spent the last year in. It seems that when angels are forced into a healing sleep, they often find themselves more powerful and with new abilities once they awaken. But those abilities can be erratic at first, and no one would betray such weakness as offering information about how long it might take for them to settle.

We’ll also meet the rest of Raphael’s seven most trusted lieutenants, fleshing out what will probably be a core cast throughout the series. And the two leads continue to actually get to know each other. Their romance may have started hot and heavy, but having a partner means actually learning who they are and what motivates them.

I’m still finding the series interesting. I wasn’t thrilled with the zombies, but I’m almost never thrilled by zombies, so that’s nothing new. I also didn’t like how Elena’s suppressed memories freeze her up so many times throughout the book as they resurface, but that might be less obnoxious in print form. Yes, I’m still doing this series as audiobooks. I like this sort of stuff while I’m walking.

Anyway, my point is that I think I find repetition more noticeable audibly than textually. There were some sentences I listened today where I asked myself “does she really need to use ‘blood’ and ‘bloodshed’ in the same sentence?” (There is a lot of blood in these books.) Regardless, it’s interesting to note what flaws I detect aurally instead of visually.

I’m still listening to the Guild Hunter series. I have some questions, and I’m just interested in hearing what happens next for the leads. Plus I think the series is long enough that I won’t have to wonder about what I’m listening to next for some time.

Back to the physical front and my to-read Pile is dwindling mightily. Which is both good and bad. Good for the visible progress I’ve made, bad because I haven’t been buying many new books to refill it. Good because I’m saving money, bad because I have fewer options to pick from. Good that I’m finally getting to some of these books after literal years, and bad because there’s often good reasons why I haven’t read these books yet.

Today I felt the need for an anthology, and I wanted one I not only knew I could finish today, but also one I knew I’d like. Which meant it was time for Marion Zimmer Bradley’s Sword and Sorceress 29. Fun fact, this one had a note at the end explaining the decision to switch from Roman to Arabic numerals in the volume numbering.

This volume also has many fewer continuing series than the last few books. Some authors have moved on to new characters while others simply aren’t present. Like the one that editor Elisabeth Waters was cowriting. I hope that means she and her friend have exhausted their ideas because it definitely felt like it had moved well past where it started and lost track of things. Still, I find the drop in previously seen series a positive marker. But, let’s get into the crux of the content: the stories.

Deborah Ross begins with “The Poisoned Crown”. This is a variation on Snow White, although it’s a prince instead of a princess. Honestly, the only obvious elements in common with that fairy tale are the evil stepmother queen, the rightful heir being blocked, and a bit of poison. But the execution very much feels in line with Snow White, to good end.

Speaking of continuing series, “Heartless” is the first of those. It’s another of Steve Chapman’s stories about Princess Shada, a teenager who is far too impulsive for her own good. I mean, yes, she uncovers problems and solves them, but how many are of her own making because she plunges headfirst into everything? It’s not that fun to read about someone making the same mistake repeatedly.

Rebecca Eaker is back with “Witch of Stones”. The protagonist’s magic works on stone, and she’s truly an artist. But she desperately wanted to be a witch of flowers instead. Her sister got that magic and while she tries not to be jealous, it’s hard. And what do you mean, she should hookup with the shopkeeper who supplies her? He couldn’t possibly be flirting with her!

“Chosen Ones” is a Amy Griswold story. A Goddess’ people go around selecting young women as potential sorceresses to train. Naturally the girls’ widowed mothers will at least accompany their daughters to the Temple. And discuss which of the girls is most likely to be chosen. I saw where this was going, but I did like it.

Robin Wayne Bailey’s story “Warmonger” is about a battle maiden who’s come home to find almost everything changed. Oh, and she’s been sent on a suicide quest because of course. But there’s definitely more going on than it seems.

“Gift Horses” is Samantha Rich’s first publication and it does feel a little rough and unpolished. It’s about a woman who tends to horses, surrounded by people she hates and people she is more neutral towards. Well, what can you do when you and your horses are basically a bribe to leave her people alone? But there’s magic to be had, if you’re clever, and she’s got a plan.

Cat and Bari Greenberg offer a new take on the story of Kassandra in “Plausible Deniability”. Yes, you know Kassandra. The prophetess who was cursed to not be believed. Maybe, just maybe, she was happy to see people believe the opposite of her words. Sometimes.

“The Stormwitch’s Daughter” by Dave Smeds is part of a series that has been told slightly out of order. Last volume was the prequel of how Azure and Coil began their wandering lifestyle. But the one before that was about how they rescued the witch’s daughter. And now the prequel has explained why they’re seeking out gods. Oh, and I think I made an accurate prediction two stories ago. Yay me.

Catherine Soto has given her character Lin Mei reasons to travel all over ancient fantasy China in many stories, including “Shining Silver, Hidden Gold”. At this point I think that’s the point of the stories. I still think calling the series “Temple Cats” is a misnomer as the felines have little to do with the plot at this point. And it doesn’t really feel like Lin Mei has a reason to be in so many of these different places and doing so many people favors by uncovering lies and deceptions. She’s no one special, not really. So at this point the series feels more like the locations and cultures Soto wants to explore are driving things more than any plot or character.

“Mendacity” is a new story of Cluny the squirrel mage and her familiars by Michael Payne. I’ve been going back and forth on the series, whether or not I think it’s gone beyond what it needs to or not. And I think that Payne’s improved with time. The bios also indicate that he was working on an actual novel, and I think that’s helped the stories. They feel less like crazy ideas about what he can do next with his wizard squirrel and more like sequences that fit into a larger story. Obviously he does have to do some tailoring, reminding old readers and briefing new ones on relevant parts of what’s happened previously, but I accept that as normal in a short story. I am looking forward to the next installment though, which I didn’t think I’d say just a book or two ago.

M.E. Garber presents “Amma’s Wishes”, set in your typical D&D tavern where hearty heroes come to spend their coin. Amma, a server there, wishes they’d be quieter and more courteous. Not slamming the door, not pinching her butt…these would be good starts. Then the most polite adventurer there tells her he’s retiring and leaves his little bag of loot to her. Inside she finds an old, dirty lamp. You know where it’s going, but I promise you can’t predict everything. I particularly like the part where [redacted] and [wouldn’t you like to know] end up hooking up.

“Dead Hand of the Past” is from one of the newer series featured in S&S. Jonathan Shipley’s protagonist can see and speak with the dead, and is now a Church exorcist. This is in part so she can do some good, but also because if she isn’t in the Church, they might condemn her ability as being witchery. Anyway, she and her guard have been summoned to the capital. Learning why might spell big danger. Oh, and it’s clear the series is far from over as we’re adding a new character to the core cast by the end.

Patricia Cirone’s story “Nut Rolls” is also a sequel, but in this case it was seven years between tales. Her young protagonist is an actual medium who works for a fake medium. This has not endeared her to her mistress, as you might imagine. And seeing ghosts in most places really isn’t helping things either. Especially because the mistress’ dead mother is just as annoying.

“With Thy Six Keys Enter” comes from Julia West. A poor scribe finds a treasure at the used bookstore and immediately begins studying it. It’s just one part of how her fortunes seemed to have turned from that moment on. What does it mean and where does it lead? Well, that’s an interesting answer indeed.

Pauline Alama’s story “All Else” is about magic, yes, but it’s also about dedication. If spells are just words in a person’s mouth, where does the magic come from? And what kind of price does it demand? Definitely a good tale to consider.

“Gods of the Elders” follows, a Jonathan Moeller story that starts with young women sniping at each other. Well, it’s somewhat understandable. Our protagonist is demonborn, the daughter of a possessed woman. And she doesn’t like hearing lies spread about her people. That and a bit of quick work with her fists are a great way to find punishment. Of course, she’s a bit of a disciplinarian’s nightmare; pain means little to her. So how to properly punish the girl and get her to begin to find a more acceptable attitude?

I think Melissa Mead has concluded a few S&S volumes now. Flash fiction seems to be her forte. This one is “Bronze Bras and More!” It seems that a king has a group of guardswomen working for him and he’s installed magic mirrors everywhere to ensure that if he needs them, they’ll known instantly. And someone got the bright idea that, when the king doesn’t need the mirrors, they can show advertisements. But in a pinch, any weapon will do…

Overall S&S 29 is a decent volume. Better than some because I think a number of the worst ongoing series didn’t make an appearance this time. Oh sure, there’s at least one I still want to see the back of, but there were others that I’m intrigued to see more of. It’s all about tradeoffs.

I do continue to appreciate the S&S dedication to finding new authors to showcase. It’s an excellent goal ensures that there will always be fresh new stories and ideas in each volume. (Even those volumes which were invite only had fresh new ideas because some of those were established and talented authors.) I will say that I have to disagree with Elisabeth Waters about live action Disney remakes. I respect her right to enjoy them. I just don’t think very many of them are any good, and most just seem like cash grabs and ways to keep the intellectual properties under Disney’s control.

There’s still a handful of S&S volumes left to go and I can’t honestly make any predictions about when I’ll finish the series. At this rate, it’ll probably be this year. But how late in the year is anyone’s guess.

And I’ll have to figure out what to read tomorrow. But that can wait until morning.

Leave a comment