When I Reread

There are no rules about how much time I have to leave between reading a book and rereading it.  It can be as short as the length of time it takes me to turn the book over and start again, or so long that only a guesstimate of years can encompass it.  I’ll admit, having this blog makes me feel a little guilty for rereading something that I’ve already covered in the past ten months.  But should that really matter when I just want to reread that book?

Some books I will reread on a schedule of sorts; these are series, and you know how I’ll reread the previous entries before getting to the brand-new volume.  So these are usually read once a year.  Others will be like Deep Secret, my current favorite novel to read at a convention, given that it takes place at one.

Then there’s books that I consider and know I’m not yet ready to reread it, for one reason or another.  Brandon Sanderson’s Stormlight Archive has been on my mind now and then over the past few months, but I know better than to reread it now.  Those books are very long and fairly intense…and the third will be out later this year.  I am not certain I could reread them twice in one year, so I’ll continue putting them off until I get the third from the library.  (Please note, this is not just because I have the other two in paperback already.  I’m willing to read from the massive 1200+ page hardcover in order to read it ASAP, but I am not willing to lug such a thing around every successive time I revisit it.)

Rereading some books or series is truly an undertaking, so it takes longer to get myself into the correct mental space for it.  I may have read the unabridged Les Miserables twice now, but that’s been over the course of ten years or more.  Fourteen hundred pages is daunting, no matter how wonderfully snarky it gets.  And anyone who’s been reading this blog since November will recall that it took me an entire month to get through all of David Weber’s Safehold.

Sometimes I put books off because I can still recall most of the details quite clearly, and there’s no fun in revisiting it yet.  Other times it doesn’t matter how recently I last read it, I just want to be enfolded in that world once more.  It’s this last emotion that drove me to reread Uprooted, even though it’s been less than five months.

Naomi Novik can really hit me right where it hurts when she wants to.  It helps that Uprooted comes from Russian fairy tales and folklore as opposed to the very dryly English manner that her Temeraire series possesses.  I’m not saying that the Russians are always down to earth, but it’s a notable trait in Agnieszka, the protagonist of the story.  The world of courts and kings is beyond her interest.  She could understand it, if she chose, but she’d rather stick with the familiar.

It’s a book that starts out similar to Beauty and the Beast, but only enough to give you the subliminal message that this too is a fairy tale, and not one you already know.  Even when Agnieszka does make it to the capital and meets the king, it’s not for any of the reasons you might expect at the beginning of the book.  And that’s not where the story ends, either.  It’s a tale of bravery, recognition, acceptance, forgiveness, and redemption.  It is bloody and peaceful, languid and intense, a wonderful blend of contrasts.  Given all that, is it any wonder that I’ve been wanting to reread it for weeks?

I also managed to get to Power Rangers: Aftershock today.  This is the follow up graphic novel to the new movie which means, among other things, that I finally got to sit down and study the new suits in detail.  Oh sure, I could probably have googled them long before, but that takes the fun out of it.  First thing I noticed looking at this cover is that the girls appear to be wearing high heels in their suits?  Thanks gender roles.  The most recognizable helmets are still the red ranger and the pink ranger, with the rest appearing to be more “inspired by” their respective animals instead of depicting them.  Not a bad thing, just not what I’m accustomed to with the original costumes.

And if you were complaining about the lack of suits throughout most of the movie, never fear.  We rarely see the teens outside of them in this particular story.  It seems that there’s still cleanup going on after the defeat of Goldar and Rita, so the Power Rangers are busy with that.  At least they don’t have trouble morphing anymore.  There’s also a little subplot with a shadowy government organization, ala DC’s Amanda Waller from A.R.G.U.S.  The organization, known as APEX, hasn’t done much yet, but they are there and they are watching.  They don’t trust the Power Rangers, and they’ll be waiting as soon as they have proof that the rangers aren’t the heroes they appear to be.  Kind of like J. Jonah Jameson in Spiderman.  (Yes, I have comics on my mind today.)

It’s a perfectly good little story.  My only complaint is that the last third is a chapter out of the Mighty Morphin’ Power Rangers comic series that I’ve been collecting.  I didn’t need another copy of it, and it’s specifically stated that the excerpt is here to advertise the comics and get people to pick them up (or the trades).  So for me, it’s unnecessary and wasteful, a way to bump the price of this trade up a bit.

I think I should pull out something a little longer for tomorrow, given that I have plans which may involve sitting in a coffee shop for hours.  We shall see!

Leave a Reply

