Spoilers are Bad

Mirror Sight is my least favorite book in the Green Rider series.  Though I think it’s not so bad the second time through simply because I knew what to expect.  After all, when reading a series I become attuned to it and its world.  I know what the realms of possibility include and even when the truly bizarre events start happening, I only have to reflect to understand how they have been foreshadowed and truly do fit in.

Going from Medieval/early Renaissance civilation to the Victorian era can be jarring.  Especially because that is the setting for the vast majority of Mirror Sight.  Naturally, I was rather pissed off when I first read the book because it was very little like my expectations.  Now though…it’s still odd, to say the least, but at least I understand better how it fits into the main narrative.  I think part of my revile last time was due to the hype of the cliffhanger in Blackveil.

I have to admit, I’m still rather surprised to be sitting here, typing this post, when I only began Mirror Sight this morning over breakfast.  I mean sure, we all know I read damned fast, but this was still close to eight hundred pages in a single day.  And I worked today.  And spent part of my lunch chatting.  I guess I wasted less time on the internet once I got home, but still.  Not typical at all for me to finish a book this length in a single day.

I suppose I’m reflecting on the physicality of my reading Mirror Sight to avoid talking about the content.  I’ve already hinted at the setting, but I feel that to go into more detail would contain terrible spoilers.  I’ve no idea how many people are reading, have read, or will choose to read Kristen Britain’s books, but it’s my opinion that you deserve to be surprised by what you find within and have a genuine reaction.  Knowing how the story ends makes a book less interesting to me personally.  Even if it’s the fluffiest sappy happy-ending story after, I still don’t like to know more than what type of book I’ve picked to read.

When I was on Birthright, up in the Golan Heights (listening to the Syrians bomb each other – we were that close to the border), I heard some stories about Israeli heroes.  Because of that, I later read Self-Portrait of a Hero: The Letters Of Jonathan Netanyahu.  It was a biography/autobiography put together posthumously from Netanyahu’s letters and background information from friends and family.  It was definitely an interesting and engrossing read, but I could never like it that much because I knew how it would end from the very start – with Yoni’s death.  I think it was the act of reading the book (and writing this review afterwards) which made me understand how that knowledge is what truly destroys a lot of experiences for me.  So…I hate spoiling things for others because something I despise for myself.  Like when the Harry Potter books were still being released; the preordered copy would arrive the day of the release, and I’d run away with it and not touch the internet until I’d finished every last page.  That way, nothing could spoil it for me.

My only regret is that the next book is just as big and heavy as Mirror Sight.  Ah, my poor shoulder!

Leave a Reply

