More Fun Things

I do love days when I can sit in a sunbeam and read for hours.  It’s in the mid-60’s, the sun is shining, and I got several errands done this morning.  This included donating two of my old bookshelves (trust me, these things were not worth moving to the new place) and getting myself a brand new library card.  Also using said new library card, so you’ll probably see a post for that book soon enough.  (Not today or tomorrow.)  I have to say, I am so far impressed by my new library system.  I went to the main branch for my card, as it seemed logical to do so, but there are two other locations, one of which seems to be closer to where I live.  At a glance, I suspect that the satellite locations are full buildings with decent collections, as opposed to what I recall from my childhood.  At that time, the secondary location was in the basement of the Village Hall, and the single room was about the size of a classroom.  Oh sure, they’ve put up a proper building for a second location since then, and have even expanded the parking lot for it, but that dark little room made an impression.  Just like the main branch of this new (to me) library having a parking garage makes an impression.  Though who would want to park inside on a day like today, I don’t know.

Anyway, in between errands and making jello for Monday, I managed to reread all of Elite, as promised.  And the more times I read these books, the more I try to imagine what Lackey might be planning based on other books I’ve read from her.  After all, we’ve seen a Folk Mage (read: elf) wearing purple interact with Joy three times now. We’ve seen him show up four times total, including when he seemingly protected her friend.  The guy seems to want to help her – though it’s unclear whether it’s Joy in particular or humans in general through Joy.  The information we have on him and his kind is not that dissimilar from Lackey’s other works with elves, so my brain tries to put two discrete sets of data together to try and hypothesize what will happen in Apex when it’s released later this year.

I suppose it’s not a good sign that I’m using the author’s previous books in unrelated series to try to predict the course of this current series.  It means that she’s predictable and inclined towards using the same elements repeatedly.  But I don’t really care, because these books are almost always good and I like them.

I’ve said before that I’m more likely to forgive bad fantasy than bad science fiction.  I guess I just prefer fantasy and am more willing to suffer through all sorts of poor writing as long as it’s that genre.  Maybe you can say something similar about authors like Lackey – that I’ll try anything she’s written because it’s her.  Some things, like the Elemental Masters series, I’ll put back down again fairly quick.  Others, like her continuing focus on Herald Mags, I’ll endure because I know that once she stops fooling herself about what her readers want, she’ll be back on top of good books.

Now, as you may or may not know, Passover starts Monday at sundown.  Which means that I need to get my butt in gear to watch my trio of timely movies.  However, it also means that there’s an old book which I should probably read.  It is…simple, to say the least.  Not particularly good in any way.  But it does strike a chord in me.  Let me show you.

IMG_0458

This blog, after all, is mouse Reads Books, is it not?  So what Passover children’s book could possibly be more appropriate than The Mouse in the Matzah Factory?  It is, according to the about the author, Francine Medoff’s first book.  I have no idea if she wrote anything else, nor am I particularly motivated to look her up.  I just love the fact that I have this old picture book whose cover looks exactly like matzah – a fact that I have enjoyed since I was a kid.

It’s been years since I last read this book, so you can expect that as a child, I didn’t understand everything going on.  The story itself is ridiculously simple – a mouse in a wheat field is curious about what the humans are doing, and so he follows them as they harvest the wheat and take it for milling, then into the city to be made into kosher-for-Passover matzah.  (That’s right, not all matzah is kosher for Passover!)  However, in the city, there’s some graffiti that made me laugh as I read it today.

IMG_0459

I think “Down with PHARAOH” is my favorite of the bits here.  But doesn’t that politician look far too pleased with himself?  Regardless, someone had fun putting this little fence together and sticking in a book that is, in all other ways, about making matzah.

Leave a Reply

