No Dragons Here

Today’s book is Uprooted by Naomi Novik, who is best known for her Temeraire series. If you’re unfamiliar, it’s Napoleonic Wars with dragons. Uprooted is also fantasy, but much less historical. Based on the names, I’d say Russian, or someplace near there.

The setup is similar to Beauty and the Beast, with our heroine being taken away from her home by a mysterious and unwelcome man. Who is, of course, the obvious love interest. What makes this different is the Wood.

The Wood is a presence throughout the entire book. Attributed with sentience, it becomes clear that the Wood itself is the opponent the heroes must overcome.

I love fairy tales, so it’s no wonder I am pleased to have read this book. After reading Novik’s contribution to the Warriors anthology and greatly enjoying it, I looked her up to see if she had any books besides Temeraire. Uprooted was the only one, so I put it on my amazon wishlist.

Then, when I was wandering around a quaint downtown the day after Black Friday, I found a copy in the used bookstore. Upon arriving home I went to take it off my wishlist, but couldn’t find it. Trust me, the list isn’t so long that it’s hard to find things, but I just chalked it up to my not adding it originally.

Things got clarified when we celebrated an early Hannukah and I found myself with a brand new copy. All I could do was not tell my mom I’d bought it myself a few weeks earlier and hope the book would be good enough that I could give away the other copy in good conscience and with a recommendation.

Needless to say, I am quite confident about finding a good home for the second copy, and I look forward to what else Novik will create outside of her Temeraire books.

Leave a Reply

