Moving Forward

Well, it hasn’t been a week this time.  Not that four days isn’t longer than Like a Mighty Army should’ve taken, but it’s less bad.  I blame the strange phenomenon known as “having a life.”  This unusual occurence also resulted in my toting the single  heaviest physical book in the series around downtown Chicago for a day.  I suppose I should be grateful it wasn’t one of the larger books, like the one I’m now working through, because I’d’ve had to take a different backpack to fit that one.  But still, for some reason they used a much heavier paper for book seven.

I will take some pictures soon for you guys to get a good idea of the various sizes of these things – and I do mean “various” quite literally.  At first I chalked the different sizes up to my acquiring the books through different sources – amazon and the SciFi Book Club are not going to have identical books because the latter will have their special logo on there.  But time went on and nope, still got a wide range of sizes.  As for the different paper, I can’t even begin to guess why.  Maybe someone decided that every Safehold book needs to have a minimum weight so that they all qualify as bricks?

Not that I refer to this series as bricks most of the time.  Given that these books tend to be in the 550-800 page range, that’s not really a brick.  That’s just a long book.  And the chunk at the back for the cast of characters and glossary and other information just keeps getting longer.  Like a Mighty Army‘s character list is about 65 pages long, so you can see how there’s the better part of a hundred pages of reference material in this single volume.  In this book they’ve also started adding abbreviations to each character entry, indicating in which volume that character first appeared.  I haven’t necessarily found that useful as of yet, but I will admit that when I’m not in the middle of rereading the series, I find many of the volumes tend to blend together in my mind.  Not necessarily a bad thing, since I am unlikely to ever read this series without going from start to finish.

You may have noticed that I’m not really talking about the content of the book.  We’re in the middle of the land war still, the tech level hasn’t substantially increased yet, etc.  There is a new major player though, and the book itself ends on a cliffhanger.  This is the first time Weber has used that particular technique in Safehold – earlier books end with “sequel beg” scenes that set the stage for where the next book will go. Like a Mighty Army ends on a legitimate shock and Hell’s Foundations Quiver picks up right where we leave off.

Doesn’t that title get you excited for book eight?  Seriously.  Hell’s Foundations Quiver.  Obviously I should get back to rereading that.  After all, this is the last book before I am reading entirely new material!

Leave a Reply

