Yes, There was a Book

After spending three days on a single very long anthology, I wanted something shorter.  And because I could barely think straight after the anthology, I wanted the most random thing I could find in my Pile.  This ended up being Wing Commander: Freedom Flight by Mercedes Lackey and Ellen Guon.

Yes, this book is set in the world of the Wing Commander game(s?).  I don’t know much about Wing Commander, except that this is a real game.  Or series of games.  I really have no clue.  And I suspect that the story I’ve just read has little relation to whatever the storyline of the game is, that Freedom Flight simply borrows the setting.

Going past the origin of the book itself, Freedom Flight is military sci-fi, telling the tale of a seemingly futile interstellar war between humans and Kilrathi.  The latter are essentially cat-men, from what I can tell.  There are also bird-people, the Firekkans, who are caught between the two.  I may have been in the fan community too long if my first thoughts about the alien species are how happy they must make furries.

I had some misgivings about this book, mostly because I’ve never played Wing Commander, but I realized quickly that this was a waste of brainspace.  Lackey’s name is on the cover and it’s not in Elemental Masters.  Therefore the book is well-written and a great read.  Seriously, there is a scene where the cat-man and the bird-girl get drunk and complain about humans.  It’s pretty hilarious in and out of context.

If there was anything I wanted to complain about, it would be the lack of description of the space-based fight scenes.  Given that the main human character is a fighter pilot, these are rather important.  While I got the gist of each scene, I had a hard time imagining the battle in three dimensions.  It’s not an easy thing to describe, admittedly, so I can’t be too hard on the book for that.

Overall, I am happy to find once again that picking up a book on the strength of Lackey’s name alone has served me well.  I’m not sure what I’ll read next, but I’m quite certain it won’t have much, if anyting, in common with Freedom Flight.

Leave a Reply

