Different Kind of Adaptation

I don’t like leaving graphic novels or comic books in my Pile for long.  They’re much larger than other books, and they’re skinny, so stacking isn’t great.  Plus if they’re on the top, I tend to knock into them and I’m klutzy enough without that added problem.

So today I read The Red Pyramid, Orpheus Collar’s adaptation of Rick Riordan’s novel.  Book one of the Kane Chronicles, or “Rick Riordan does Egyptian gods”.  I have a lot of fun reading Riordan’s mythology-based kids books.  If you’re not familiar with the mythology in question, they’re a good starting point.  If you are, then you can get a kick out of identifying creatures, people, and items before they’re explained.  You might even be able to predict some of the plot.

They are kids books, so predictability is a factor in some things.  But they’re good books even so.  And honestly, I don’t really understand how people define something as a “kids book” when it’s a significantly-sized chapter book.  For me, there’s two types of kids books: the first are the very large, but very skinny, picture books.  The second are small chapter books – the ones that tend to max out at about eighty pages.  Anything beyond that I wouldn’t put in a kids section.  But that’s me personally.  I think once they’re reading chapter books with no pictures that are over 100 pages, they can make real conversation.

Admittedly, there are people in highschool and older who can’t make real conversation and I’d hope they can read chapter books over 100 pages.  But that’s a different issue entirely.

The point here is that I am a fan of Rick Riordan and I do read all of his mythological series.  I try to only collect them in paperback though, which is quite annoying.  See, they aren’t released in paperback until about eighteen months after the hardcover.  For no good reason I can tell.  And since I like to reread all preceeding books just before the newest one, plus you can’t ever guarantee getting two holds from the library at once, I generally have to wait for the second-newest book to be in paperback before I reserve the newest at the library.  On the flip side, the newest has been out a while at that point, so I don’t usually have a super long wait.

Now on this version of The Red Pyramid, it’s important to note that this is, in fact, a graphic novel.  An adaptation of the novel that was released two years later.  Now, in case you weren’t aware, graphic novel adaptations have been very popular in the past five or ten years.  I’ve seen everything from this to classic literature and back again.  I’m not about to theorize why.  However, I do have another series (in part) that’s been adapted.  The adaptation of Artemis Fowl was released in 2007, and I have all four of those graphic novels.  (The book series is eight long, but so far only the first half has been adapted.)  The Red Pyramid does a good job of living up to the standards Artemis Fowl has set for me.

I’ll also be honest, I interrupted the novel I’m also working on in order to breeze through this one.  Let’s just say that it’s been in the Pile most of the year and that now seemed like the best time to get through it, especially considering what’s coming out this fall.  (I deny you, fall!  Stop making the temperature drop!)

Leave a Reply

