Timezones are Silly

This post should be for September 3rd, but isn’t because I’m currently in California and not Chicago area.  So it’s only 10:30pm as I finally get around to writing this.  Since I’m likely to finish another book on the flights, sorry, there’ll probably be two today.

Today I finished Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince, IE Dumbledore tells Harry all of Voldemort’s Backstory and What He Expects Harry to Do.  It ties up several loose ends from earlier books and offers explanations on items, scenes, and statements seen in all the previous volumes.  It also, of course, sets the stage for the upcoming climax.  There are still secrets to divulge, but we know a lot more no than we did.  J.K. Rowling is very good at focusing on the plot of the year while dropping hints at future plots.  Not that these hints are exceedingly obvious and they certainly don’t detract from the main plot of each book, but they do exist for the “oh, so that’s what that means!” moment later when she reminds you that she did, in fact, mention this before.

I don’t think I noticed (or cared) before, but it’s in the sixth and seventh books that you can see elements of Christian symbology.  Harry is quite clearly a Jesus archetype, or he will become one, which is hinted at when the Ministry of Magic chooses to refer to him as “The Chosen One” throughout the book.  Because of the prophecy, he is most definitely so, though as Dumbledore points out, if Voldemort hadn’t chosen to act upon what he knew of the prophecy, it might never have come to pass.  So it really is a self-fulfilling prophecy.

Backtracking slightly – in book five we are introduced to thestrals – reptile-like horses that can only be seen by people who have witnessed death.  Harry, having seen Cedric’s death at Voldemort’s hands, is now able to see them a the start of Order of the Phoenix.  However, I have two issues with this.  First of all, at the end of Goblet of Fire, when the students are going to the train to go home for the summer, it distinctly says that he sees the horseless carriages.  But they shouldn’t have been horseless at the end of book four and then have thestrals at the start of book five, since Diggory died earlier.  Also, we know from the dementor attacks that Harry was a witness to his mother’s death at the very least.  He could hear the voices of both parents being killed, and he saw the flash of green light that was his mother’s death.  Now, I understand that he was a year old at the time and that a baby’s perception is not at all an adult’s, but why exactly does that not count for the thestrals, especially after the dementors brought the memory to light?

I’m relatively certain I’m far from the first person to wonder about such things, but as previously mentioned, I am not dying of curiosity.  If I was, I’d go google the answer.  I don’t absolutely have to know, I’m just pointing out inconsistencies and possible errors, like you do.

Next up is, of course, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, the seventh book in the series.  One hopes that I don’t finish it too early in the day, considering that I don’t have a great deal else to occupy me on the flight.  Then again, I think I’ll be good.  I really hate teen angst and it tends to make me take more breaks from reading because I’m just so annoyed at the characters.  Book seven isn’t nearly as bad as five, but that doesn’t mean I love every moment of it.

Leave a Reply

