Always Notice the Art

I have to say, I think Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire has the most stunning new cover art thus far.  The others have all been nice, yes, but this is the book that I couldn’t stop staring at.  The front cover, specifically.  It’s interesting to note that the back of each book has the synopsis on the bottom half, and a separate image from the front on the top half, along with the in-character quote.  The back images all feature the back of Harry Potter, as he faces whatever challenge the book holds.  Book one was the Mirror of Erised, book two the Chamber of Secrets, etc.

harry-potter-goblet-of-fire-new-cover-630

d7515dd1825817416266763981f95f0fAll images in this post found via google.

harry_potter_and_the_goblet_of_fire_us_coverI have to say, it’s very exciting to be reading these books with the brand new covers to look at.  I’ll always remember and love the old ones, but there’s something to be said for new and updates.  Seriously, I have always looked at the old cover for this book in particular and wondered why Harry looks like a girl all of a sudden.  Is it just me?  Am I projecting my own gender identity issues on this art or is it as androgynous as I seem to think it is?

I’m over halfway through the series now, which means each book is now likely to take me two days, less if I have nothing to do, more if I’m busy.  Considering that there are flights in my near future, I expect to finish Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix tomorrow, but not Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince as well.  My little box that the set came in looks kind of lonely and empty now, but since I won’t be here to see it, I don’t mind that much.

A lot of the reviews I read before buying the set complained that they don’t fit in the box very well.  I haven’t had all seven in since I started this reread, but based on how things have gone, I’m inclined to be a bit suspicious of these people.  After all, who doesn’t know the trick of making sure you have books on both ends (regardless of which you finished most recently) and then pushing the rest in via the middle?  Regardless, it’ll be Sunday at the very earliest that I get to attempt fitting all the books back into their box, so it’s no use worrying about that now.  If I have to recycle the box, well, that’s life.  The books can sit on the bunny anyway.  Sorry no photo of the bunny tonight, it’s way too late to take a picture of something that’s just positioned wrong for the artificial lighting.  Besides, it’ll be nicest if I wait until all the books are back.  I only like to show gaping holes on my shelves for a purpose!

Leave a Reply

