I Read Fast

If not for book nine being on the way (even though I haven’t gotten a shipping notice and amazon said delivery between the 21st and 23rd), I’d say I was halfway done right now.  I’ve finished Requiem for the Sun and started Elegy for a Lost Star.  This fifth book, and final paperback, is one of the shortest in the series, a bit over 400 pages.  Some of the others are about 800 or 900.  I’d say that most of the books I read are in the 700-900 range, and during the week it usually takes me about two days to read them.

There’s older books, of course, in the 120-350 range, as well as books aimed at different age ranges.  Then there’s Brandon Sanderson’s Stormlight Archive (1200 pages or so per book) and Les Miserables (just under 1500 pages with footnotes).  Please note that I’m talking single books here, and not omnibi.  When you combine two, three, or even four books into a single volume, of course the page count is going to go up.  I am not going to go look up how many pages each for The Annotated Chronicles and The Annotated Legends from Dragonlance.  Even Margaret Weis, one of the coauthors, calls them “the bricks.”  (This I know because she signed those and several others for me at a con.)

Back to the book I just read.  According to the wiki screenshot my friend (the same one who had randomly learned the length of the series) sent me, this is one of the intermediary books, setting the stage for the upcoming battle, or climax, or whatever possible worldending catastrophe it is.  So not as much happens in this or the next volume, as it’s more setting the stage.  I mean, one character becomes pregnant and she’s still pregnant by the end of the book, longer gestation period notwithstanding.  Requiem for the Sun may start three years after Destiny ended, but the book itself covers maybe 2-3 months, no more.

Where before we had musical terms used to divide the book, Requiem uses weaver’s terms – carding, weaving, warp, weft, etc.  It doesn’t have much bearing in this particular volume, aside from a discussion of direct connections (warp threads) and “friend of a friend” connections (weft threads).  However, it is worth pointing out that the Rhapsody trilogy continually shows the Threads of Time, and I do recall that this concept of Time as being woven will come into play again.

There’s another note I wanted to make.  The continent in which most of the story takes place is the last of the elemental birthplaces.  Because of this, one character mentions that speaking prophecies in this land causes their fulfillment to come more quickly, sometimes only permitting the words to be spoken once.  I don’t really have much to say about it, just that it’s an interesting idea, and one that makes you wonder how it may have a subtle influence on the path of the story.  There are a lot of prophecies, and it’s always interesting to try and figure them out, or to see if there was even more information hidden there, even once they were fulfilled.

And so the Symphony of Ages continues with Elegy for a Lost Star.  We’ll see if I finish this tomorrow or Friday.

Leave a Reply

