It’s a Start.

So this is my first post on a blog.  Any blog, actually.  Not just my own personal blog.  Yes, I could keep a diary, but who knows?  Maybe someone will actually find my musings and ramblings on the books I read amusing, entertaining, or otherwise worthwhile.  Sometimes I have a lot to say on a book.  Other times, not so much.  One thing’s for sure – I read A LOT.  Expect posts to come relatively often.

Today I’ve started reading Moonsinger’s Friends: An Anthology in Honor of Andre Norton.  This anthology was published in 1985, some twenty years before the renowned author died.  If you haven’t heard of her before, I am very sorry.  You have been deprived, missing out on one of the pioneers of female authors in sci-fi (and fantasy).  She is best known (to me) for her Witch World series, something I’m considering rereading soonish.  But I have about 100 books by her in total, mostly from the 60s and 70s.

I’m currently in the fifth story in the book, out of fifteen stories, several introductions, and an essay.  It’s a nice change of pace that (so far) I’ve never read any of these stories before. Of course, I’m only familiar with three of the authors I’ve read so far, these being Marion Zimmer Bradley, Tanith Lee, and Poul Anderson.  Let it be noted, I’m not actually sure I’ve read anything by Poul Anderson before, but my dad really likes his stuff.  Of the remaining authors, I’m also familiar with Nancy Springer, Anne McCaffrey, C.J. Cherryh, Diana Paxson, Judith Tarr, Katherine Kurtz, Jane Yolen, and Joan D. Vinge.  So, most of the authors.  Not bad.

So far, this anthology is very impressive.  I haven’t considered any of the stories thus far to be mediocre – rather, all of them are good.  This is not usually the case, though I still have a ways to go.  Yes, most of the stories have had at least one predictable twist thus far, but I’m not counting that against them, considering that they’ve been enjoyable in ways unlike what I usually read.  Or that could be their age counting for them.  Jury’s out on that one.

The book’s really making me want to read through my Norton – where it’s worth noting that these are the books I own that I have not necessarily read.  I merely absconded with everything that bore her name from my dad’s collection.  It’s also making me want to look up The Darkangel by Meredith Ann Pierce.  I mean, the bit that the editor, Susan Shwartz, mentions when she’s namedropping has peaked my interest.  So we’ll see if that goes anywhere.

That’s all for now.  Expect another post either when I finish this book, or when I have more to say about it and the stories within.

Leave a Reply

